I’m nearly half-finished collecting the themes I need for my special project! I’m really pleased with how this is coming along. Once I have all my themes I’ll have to get them turned into actual pieces. But the first step is definitely having the themes on the page.

This past week I’ve also been working on a clarinet quartet. I’m calling it a Concertino; it has four movements, and I’m currently sketching out the third one. I expect to have the sketches done by the end of next week.

I have excellent news regarding the space dragon story: I finished it yesterday! This means that I can now start working on Relevé, a young adult novel about a ballet dancer. I love this story and can’t wait to get back to the characters!

I have gotten more done on The Wolf & the Bear, and I should be able to move on to the next step of the revision process at the end of next week. I’m looking forward to that, as well!

This week’s excerpt is from chapter seven of The Wolf & the Bear:

Rudu pulled at the shackles that bound her. The cavern the trolls had brought her into was almost too dark to see in. She had no idea where she was or where she was going, just that she had expected to die and this was definitely not Valhalla.

She missed the stars, the moon, the sun, the trees, Modor, Snawa, Bera, Wulf… how she wished Wulf was with her.

Of course, if Wulf was with her, she wouldn’t be captured by trolls and a mad Dvergr, and she wouldn’t be on her way to gods knew where or her wrists and ankles secured with cold iron manacles.

Who are all of those people? How did Rudu end up captured by trolls? What’s a Dvergr?

That would be telling. You’ll be able to learn the answers to all of these questions when the novel is finished and published!

Leave a Reply

