It’s been a busy week so I’ve managed to get some more flash fiction written and wrote the piano part for a short clarinet piece (it needs editing), but that’s about it.

Well, I started the next chapter of Relevé and realized that I need to type this story. So now I have to figure out when I’m going to be able to do that (logistical nightmare when you have a two-year-old). I’m sure I’ll get it sorted out soon; in the meantime, I’m going to be focusing on The Wolf & the Bear and try to write as much flash fiction as I can.

I really enjoy writing flash fiction. Writing short stories (really short stories!) is challenging, but it’s a lot of fun, too! I’m able to write funny stories, dramatic stories, exciting stories… and the entire thing is wrapped up in around 500 words (give or take). How fantastic is that?

Here’s another flash opening from this week:

Alaina wrinkled her nose and frowned across the cubicle divider at Terri. “What’s that smell?”

Before Terri could answer, the fire alarm began to blare, eliminating all possibility of conversation.

The women grabbed their purses and followed their co-workers toward the nearest stairwell. As they passed the CEO’s office, they could hear someone calling for help.

Alaina paused. “Should we help them?” she asked.

Is there actually a fire? Who’s in the CEO’s office? Just more questions that are answered in the story!

Leave a Reply

