I know, I know, I’ve been a bad girl and didn’t post last week. In my defense, it’s been a pretty busy month. My paid work has been trying to take over my life, and until this week I wasn’t able to do much writing!

Happily that has changed, however, and I did manage to write a flash fiction story this week, work on the revision to The Wolf & the Bear, and get a bit of music written. Pretty productive! I was also able to get some writing-related things finished last week, so now I just have one more tiny thing to get sorted out before I unveil my surprise! If all goes well, you’ll have my announcement next Friday.

So, let’s see about an excerpt, shall we?

Hm… it’s been a while since we had anything from The Wolf & the Bear, and I did just finish some work on the first two chapters. Have a bit of a scene from that:

The round, full moon stood sentry over the small long house. Wudurose, sitting in the branches of a nearby tree, watched the smoke rising through the vent in the roof. The Snow Moon was appropriately white this year. Soon the ice on the riveer would begin to crack, and she would again be fishing for meat rather than trying to hunt small game.

She sighed and wished that Fæder would return. It was long since the day he had promised to be back. She wondered what was keeping him.

Footsteps crunched loudly in the snow, and Rose turned her head swiftly to mark the passage of a male figure through the trees.

It had been a full month since Wulf had brought them Bera to tend, and he visited them twice weekly, bringing larger game to supplement the small animals Wudurose was able to provide her family. She was torn between gratefulness for his generosity and resentment that he could do something for her mother and sister that she couldn’t.

She sighed and turned to climb silently down from her perch in the tree.

Leave a Reply

